Canvas coverd decks

Discussion in 'Materials' started by splitshot, Oct 12, 2005.

1. splitshot

splitshot Junior Member

I am restoring a 1948 Chris Craft 23' Express and it has a lot of canvas that needs to be removed and replaced. My problem is I have no experience with measuring for amounts---how to put it down--or what to paint it with. I'm sure there is some mag.s or books that can help me out if I just knew about them...:confused:

I'm not a stickler on keeping the decks original--is there a alternative to canvas for the decks.

2. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

Stained and varnished wood, if it is good enough shape after sanding.

3. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

There are a number of good alternatives to real canvas. Some restorers use synthetic cloth and epoxy. It can be , with practice, laid so as to look very much like canvas. It doesn't have the same feel under foot but it looks pretty good. One issue is that the kind of canvas used in "the good ol' days" is not available anymore. It rots considerably easier.
    I have laid it bedded in white lead and painted with enamel paint and achieved near bonafide results. Beware...It does tear easily though and it is always such a shame to have to drown one of your friends for such a lubberly error.

4. mmd

mmd Senior Member

Check out the WoodenBoat Forum, Build & Repair section, FAQ thread. Lots of good info there.

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member