Beginner Want to know about Materials

Discussion in 'Materials' started by ladivito, Feb 13, 2006.

1. ladivito

ladivito Junior Member

Hi ,

i'm a beginner in boat building , currently are looking to build a boat by myself. i'm not familiar in the material , i just know the fiberglass is part of the material.

Except fiberglass , what kind of material do i need ? :confused: Thanks for helping. :)

2. DanishBagger

DanishBagger Never Again

I'm certainly not "in the know", but that is very wide, open question. You need to figure out what type of boat, what type of building method, what finish etc you want. Then you will be closer to deciding, and the real boatbuilders here will be able to give you a better answer than I am capable of.

(I'm about to build a small boat/dinghy myself).

Andre

3. ladivito

ladivito Junior Member

I'm sorry for not given more detail of the boat i wanna build ~

here is the link of picture for the similar boat i had.
    [​IMG]

I'm planning to turn this boat over to make a mold by using the bottom of the boat, then produce another 2 similar boat.

what kind of materials i need to make the "mold" and the "whole boat" ? :confused: , i believe the materials for building the "mold" and "boat" are different if not mistaken.

i had a budget on this , so not planning to use expensive materials.

4. DanishBagger

DanishBagger Never Again

This is just my guess - bear in mind that I'm _not_ a boat builder, nor does my opinion matter much - but building a mold seems rather much to do a one-off. I'd imagine it would be easier to take the measurements off of it, directly instead, and then build it from that instead, using whatever method you find "neat" - myself, I like the idea of strip-planking. Anyways, you could use foam and whatnot.

[Edit] I'm quite certain as well that the materials used are different, but because of the latter, I don't even think you should investigate it (you can spend you time better) [end edit]