Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Materials' started by biggathanjesus, Nov 22, 2003.

1. biggathanjesus

biggathanjesus New Member

Hi everyone. I'm a Materials Engineering student researching the diferent types of materials used in the construction of boat hulls. As theres so much to the project, i don't have any specific ideas about what you could offer me. But just looking through the forums here i found a lot of interesting topics. I love the water myself, i've built two mirror sailing dinghys with my brothers and in the process of restoring an old fireball that saw better days
    Anyhow just to give you an idea of what i'd by looking for:
    The different materials.,
    History of hulls materials,
    Hull design,
    Materials used and their properties....like say their cost, durability, ease of construction...also their tensile strength, elasticity, etc.
    Problems with diff materials...like osmosis, delamination, rotting, corrosion, etc.

Basically if you have any good links and resources i'd appreciate it. Thanks! :D

2. Mr

Hi
    I would be interested in information you acquired with regard to boats made from aluminum. I.e. why aluminum and not grp. any thing will be of help.Cheers Charlie

3. tonyr

tonyr Junior Member

For starters, may I recommend the book "The Elements of Boat Strength" by Dave Gerr to you both? Lots of good information (scantlings etc.) on all the basic materials, plus a good supplemental reading list.

I am using it as my bible on a 24' strip/epoxy boat I am building.

Tony.

4. Palmer

Palmer Junior Member

'Marine Composites' is a pretty useful book.

5. Buckle

Buckle Composite Engineer

Marine composite book

Hey buddy,