Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Construction > Marketplace
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2006, 03:23 PM
l_boyle l_boyle is offline
ol' can of sardines
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Rep: -5 Posts: 41
Location: United States
monkeyads.com

Haven't anybody have any luck selling boats or marine items through monkeyads.com?
I had an ad on there once for over three months, and all I gets is scammers trying to send me $4,800 cashier check that is fake...
What ever ya'll do.... do not try and deposit those fake cashier check into your bank.
Yes, they looked so real. Even the names of bank... till you call or look up the bank, their routing numbers do not match, nor the account numbers... Be safe, than sorry.. Find out who and where this oversea check coming from..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2006, 01:57 AM
longliner45 longliner45 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Rep: 505 Posts: 1,637
Location: Ohio
thanks,,,,,,,,,longliner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2006, 07:52 PM
boatsource's Avatar
boatsource boatsource is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Rep: 15 Posts: 24
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
I'm guessing someone might have had some success with a fraudulent check in the marine industry.

I had one sent to me probably about a year and a half ago but it was obviously fake. There wasn't much after that but recently I've been recieving a large amount of fraud attempts. They come from everywhere (google searches, classified ads postings, etc), but I do have a large amount of garbage from Craigslist posts. Also, I think if they don't succeed they send their friends to try.

At this time I'd speculate I have about 4 to 5 fraudulent email inquiries going. It's a huge time waster. So be careful with whatever and wherever you are selling, it will only get worse.
__________________
Boat Source International Marine Brokerage

Shane Lilge
1-604-261-1353
http://www.boatsource.ca/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2006, 07:14 PM
fish is a fish's Avatar
fish is a fish fish is a fish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Rep: 10 Posts: 10
Location: san diego Ca.
Boat source,
Being a broker you should not be using craigslist boat section....
thats a joke... I am on San Diego c/l all the time and I see all the brokers getting flagged?? don't ask me why.... C/L ,where else can I get a 4s. 05 Yamaha 90 O,B that runs perf. for $1800 but it is in Alaska and all I need to do is sent them cash and they will ship the motor. Thats joke #2
I tried to sell two wave runners on C/L had 50+ e-mails, and 30+ call backs took off work early two times to meet the prospective buyers and NO SHOW...both times. Lots of flakes/ crooks on C/L, but also some people just looking to buy/sell a boat or parts ETC. Just my 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2006, 08:28 PM
Thin water Thin water is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Rep: 26 Posts: 95
Location: Central Florida
I worked frauds (As a Police Detective) for several years. Never accept ANY form of payment where they want you to send them back money after they pay you. They will send fake cashiers checks for more than the asking price and ask for the remainder to be wired to them. There is always some story about an associate who owes them and they will have him pay you and you send them the balance. Never accept and re-mail anything for someone you don't trust, they bought it with stolen credit card info or fraud, and even cash is not safe. They will have a customer of theirs pay you in cash for your item (by mail) then wire them the rest. When you do you go to jail for the counterfeit money they sent you and they make off with the wired funds leaving you owing your bank or (Their favorite) Western Union a bunch of money. The money being printed in Iran now is almost perfect and even has the security strips in it. The checks mostly come from Nigeria, the fraud capital of the world. They have classes there on how to scam stupid Americans (No, I am not kidding). Most people are to busy trying to make a living building/fixing boats to keep up with the scammers who work full time figureing out how to rip them off. Be carefull with these overseas "Buyers"...

JIM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2006, 12:42 AM
l_boyle l_boyle is offline
ol' can of sardines
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Rep: -5 Posts: 41
Location: United States
I like to thanks you all for the time reading this and for the answers...
Well, I discontinue my sale on "monkey ads" after having way too many responses with "scammers"... That the nice thing about "IP address" look up..
I checked to see where they are from, well it show a lot about a person trying to scam you, they lied alot about where they are located.. I never replied back since, that I had two checks made out to me.. Don't get me wrong, the money looked good and all.... I just glued them on a board as an trophy... No, kidding.. there are $4,650 check and a $4,800 check...
They are there to remind me....
__________________
It ass whuppin' time
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Web Site Design and Content Copyright ©1999 - 2012 Boat Design Net