New here, extremely small jet boat development :)

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by Quicksilver, Dec 17, 2006.

1. Quicksilver

Quicksilver Junior Member

Hello, although I am not a professional boat designer, it was originally my childhood dream and have many designs, Ive been working on since I was probably 13yrs old.

I'm currently been developing a functional model jet boat for the last six months. I'm using electric power, but when it comes to models, electric provides far more RPM than a gasoline or alcohol motor can make per pound.

My goal is to make this boat as fast as possible and further develop the jet pump to do so. In the model world, jet boats aren't regarded as fast, however this boat has already shocked many people. It currently runs at 23mph. The project originally started due to my interest in a model that could be run anywhere, even a "raging" stream :) , which it can, but I've seen these Australian jet boats(full size) that go unbelievable fast.

I thought people here might be interested in this project since it represents sheer overkill. The boat measures ~.75m in length, .16m wide monohedryl hull with ~25 degrees of dead rise.

The pump is a single stage axial jet pump with a 29mm impeller. The motor is just about as big as you'd want to go. If anyone knows about small e-motors, it's a 720 size brushed motor running just under 200watts at 19.2volts and 24K RPM under maximum load.

Heres the issue, the motor does not get up near maximum load and a larger pump would be ridiculous, however the overall setup is not heavy, which leads me to believe I could improve the impeller design or nozzle outlet. I know this because I'm using the maximum voltage for the motor and it doesnt even get warm from running full throttle for 10 minutes. It should be almost hot.