Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Design > Propulsion > Jet Drives
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Most Recent Posts Gallery Images Search

Old 03-12-2002, 07:49 PM

Jet Drive

I am looking to buy a boat, but it has a jet drive. I have no knowledge about it and have a few questions.

?Can you give me a simple definition of what it is and how it works?

?How is the performance compared to other drives? (better, worse)

?Is there anything of interest about them I should know?

Old 03-13-2002, 04:37 AM

Rep: 923 Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Can you give me a simple definition of what it is and how it works?
A Jet Drive uses an impeller in a tube which sucks in water from the bottom and shoots it out a nozzel at the stern at a high rate of speed. As water is expelled backward, the boat moves forward (think of how a rocket works.)

Here is a fuller explanation from the Hamilton Jet Site:

http://www.hamjet.co.nz/index.cfm/Th...jet_Works.html

How a Waterjet Works

A waterjet generates propulsive thrust from the reaction created when water is forced in a rearward direction. It works in relation to Newton's Third Law of Motion - "every action has an equal and opposite reaction". A good example of this is the recoil felt on the shoulder when firing a rifle, or the thrust felt when holding a powerful fire hose.

Put simply, the discharge of a high velocity jet stream generates a reaction force in the opposite direction, which is transferred through the body of the jet unit to the craft's hull, propelling it forward (see diagram below).

In a boat hull the jet unit is mounted inboard in the aft section. Water enters the jet unit intake on the bottom of the boat, at boat speed, and is accelerated through the jet unit and discharged through the transom at a high velocity.