'96 Regal Rush XP-120hp Jet Power Loss

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by Mitch B, Jun 16, 2007.

1. Mitch B

Mitch B Junior Member

Need a little help, I'm new to the forum and I am hoping you guys can give me some pointers. I have come to posses (temporarily) a '96 Model Regal Rush XP with a inboard 120HP Mercury Jet Drive Motor. I am new to jet drive boats as well. this is the first I have used. I am, however, familiar with engines and outboard prop motors somewhat.

I'll try to describe the problem as best I can, The boat has been sitting for about a month. I went through everything as best I could prior to putting it in the water. The boat still had about 2-4 gallons of fuel in it. I filled it the remainder (about 8 Gal). The owner told me that it has been giving him a problem getting up on step and pulling a skier is extremely difficult. I found out today exactly what he meant.

The motor itself appears to be working fine, it maintains RPM, however, going to full throttle it has no power whatsoever, from a dead stop in the water to full throttle it will not get up on plane, at all. At full throttle the engine rev's as if it is cavitating and mearly sucking air. At about 60-70% throttle it will get up to speed and plane off and reach an acceptable cruising speed. Upon making a left or right turn (right turns more than left) it loses power again as if it is cavitating. And on a full 180 degree turn it bogs down terribbly and will take several hundred yards to get up to speed again.