Converting I/O engine to inboard?

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by Dave B, Jun 10, 2007.

1. Dave B

Dave B Junior Member

I'm in the process of building a boat and I've been watching for a used one with a good engine that I could part out. Of course the I/O's are a dime a dozen but so far I haven't found a good I/B.

I'm no mechanic, so what would it take to convert from I/O to I/B? Say for a Chev 350?

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Given a choice between the two, I'd have the I/O every time for several reasons. They steer 100% better then any straight shaft inboard can dream of. The compact, self contained engine/drive have a smaller footprint inside the hull and it's located aft, where it's out of usual traffic flow within the boat. Finding someone to work on it is a simple affair, but inboards are harder to find good repair folks for. Parts will be available over the counter, rather then mail order or special order. Prop selection will be better and more available. In short, an I/O is a better way to go then an inboard, but maybe you have your reasons.

Certainly some boats need the inboard, if just to remain within the "style" of the vessel, but there's not much to redeem them in direct comparison. Don't get me wrong, I own both, but given a choice of which I'd prefer to operate, maintain and live with . . .

3. StianM

StianM Senior Member

The chev 350 is a engine that I would pick since it's a easy engine anny mecanic can fix and it's cheap, maybe a 283(or whatever the volume was) witch is dirt cheap moust places since the custom guys think there is no replacement for displacement and you could get a new one every year with a low milage at a low cost.

4. charmc

charmc Senior Member

PAR has some good points, but since you requested info on I/B, here are some thoughts:

No bellows to crack and cause major, even catastrophic, leak.