Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Design > Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Most Recent Posts Gallery Images Search

Old 09-06-2011, 04:13 PM

Rep: 10 Posts: 10
yet another prismatic coefficient question!

Hi, newbie here, hopefully someone can help!?!?

I'm using 'Delftship' hull modelling software to design what might be described as a modern interpretation of a 30 square metre. the particular hull I am designing is 11.5m long, 2.1m beam, 0.4m draft (excluding foils) and 1800kgs displacement. One of the features of this software is that it can calculate a number of key hydrostatic properties more or less instantly, including prismatic coefficient.

I have read at great length just about everything I can find on the web about prismatic and block coefficients, and have no trouble understanding the concept- but when I take my new found knowledge back to the design, it stops making sense. The problem is this- all the conventional wisdom I can find seems to suggest that a reasonable prismatic coefficient for a sailing monohull is likely to be somewhere between .5 and .6. According to Delftship, the hull I have drawn has a Cp of 0.41- which, by what I have researched on the subject, would indicate it to likely be a fairly poor performer.

So, to prove to myself that I wasn't going completely mad, I imported the lines plan of an existing 1925 rule 30 square metre into delftship, and modelled it as accurately as I could in the software, then used the hydrostatics function to calculate the Cp- according to this the 30 square has a Cp of 0.36.

Then, to prove I wasn't going completely mad again, I used Delftship to model a Soling hull, and then do the same calculation- it thinks the Soling has a Cp of 0.41.