What is a significance of a wing thickness

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by markmal, Nov 16, 2012.

1. markmal

markmal Junior Member

Hi.
    I am a newbie in aerodynamics. I am wandering about what benefits will give a changing a regular soft thin sail with a "thick" wing sail.
    I've downloaded XFLR5 and analyzed two wing sections (mine custom ones):
    1 - an asymmetric section with thickness 10% and camber 3.8%
    2 - From the section #1 I've pulled bottom curves to top ones that produced asymmetric section with thickness reduced to 0 (only 1% in front, where a mast is). camber became ~9%
    3 - From the section #1 I've pulled bottom and top curves to centerline that produced asymmetric section with thickness reduced to 0 (only 1% in front, where a mast is). camber is ~3.8%

Analysis (for Reynolds number 200000 and AoA from -5 to +30 degrees) gave max Cl 1.4 for #1, 1.6 for #2 at AoA 7.5 degree.
    For #3 Cl was 1.4 at AoA 30 degree (with high Cd of course).

Does all this mean that just making a "thin" soft sail baggier will give thrust comparable with a "thick" wing sail of similar leeward curvature?
    If so, why advanced Oracle cats use wing sails?

2. Owen423

Owen423 Junior Member

A few pointers.
    1/it's in the rules
    2/ the airfoil generates true lift, not apparent lift
    3/ the airfoil generates significantly less drag.
    4/ the drag reduction translates to less heel in the right circumstances

For the cup, that translates to bigger sail area on the same size boat. And we all know that bigger is faster ;)

Fluid testing of soft sails show that the majority of the claimed lift is in fact through deflection of airflow on the inside of the sail, so it is apparent lift... Something that held early aviation back.

The interaction of head and main together, makes the airflow across the lee of the mainsail detach less, and reduces drag.