drag, sail, induced and other.

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by Anatol, May 23, 2015.

1. Anatol

Anatol Senior Member

Hello All
    I am very pleased to join your conversations and learn. I have a number of general questions about drag but here will discuss only drag re sails. I'm not a aerodynamics engineer and so am looking for general answers like - insignificant (less than 5%), or 'not nearly a much of an issue as sailshape'... etc. My context is the design of a proa around 10m/30' - of which more in other posts. So the context for my questions is a level sailing, non-planing, non-foiling boat , with a high aspect, square topped two mast cat schooner rig. I'm interested in maximising windward performance in particular.

1. Mast drag. How significant is it. ie, - given two more or less identical sails, one a jib on a forestay, the other a main on a mast (in this case, lets say a circular section). Is the knife edge luff of the jib a major contributor to drive? Is mast drag a major drag?

2. I've looked at the discussion on deck sweepers - I understand that flow under the boom is a source of major losses - but how much? Why did the 'park avenue boom' go away. Was it theoretically sound?

3. Winglets/endplates. I've seen sailcloth endplates on the jibs of Sydney 16 or 18' skiffs. It is often said that an endplate on a rudder increases the effectiveness equivalent to substantially extending the foil. Same I believe is true for sail peaks. So why don't we see endplates on squaretop mainsails?

looking forward to reading your answers
    thanks!

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member