Modern computing options?

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by LP, Oct 25, 2011.

1. LP

LP Flying Boatman

I'm a post modernistic pro-anti-computer Windows 98 was tops type of a techno person. :D:D:D

Actually, I'm looking at a replacement for my current laptop. I'm running an HP Pavillion zv6000 with an onboard ATI graphics card w/ dedicated graphics memory. This is pre-dual-core stuff and I have not followed how the dual core systems work. I know that heavily scripted websites make my cooling fans go into overdrive.

The proliferation touch screen notepads has me wondering about the viability of such a system to run 3D cad software. I am PC based so the I-Pads are not of interest, but I did recently see a Windows/PC based system.

Two main questions:

Are notepad computers advanced enough to run 3D CAD software? Size, portablility and weight are my biggest interest in these devices.

Does multi-core technology reduce the need (or advantage) of using a dedicated 3D graphics card?

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

I've used Rhino on several laptops very successfully without any problems. I'm amazed at the performance available for $600 or so. At last year's IBEX a talk on Rhino was given using a notepad computer for the demos. But for a few dollars more you can have a laptop with considerably faster processor and more memory.

Dual core doesn't seem to do much for graphics. Get a machine with either decent integrated (on the motherboard) graphics or a separate graphics card.

3. Stumble

Stumble Senior Member

Lp,

I am not a techie, but from my experience no tablet will give you the type of power you need for 3d cad (this from my iPad). And the little notepads have even less power, and you pay a lot for the size relative to the processing power of them.