how many people work with dual monitors?

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by tux, Nov 17, 2002.

?

Does your cad system have dual monitors?

1. I use dual monitors and love having all the space

96 vote(s)
    68.1%
  2. I would prefer one even larger monitor to two monitors

14 vote(s)
    9.9%
  3. Imperfect software support has kept me from getting dual monitors yet

2 vote(s)
    1.4%
  4. I have no need for a second monitor - one screen is plenty

17 vote(s)
    12.1%
  5. Other

12 vote(s)
    8.5%
  1. tux

tux Junior Member

How many people have dual monitors setup?

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

I don't see the need. I very seldom split my screen.
    Gary:D

3. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

I Have no experience with multiple screens - like Gary, I can't really see the need though. But this is one place where bigger IS better....

4. pedja

pedja Junior Member

Matrox g550

I work on two monitor it is wonerful, it is best

5. Polarity

Polarity Senior Member

I did try but could not find the "old" hardware needed by my old version (Me) of windows. (it needs a supported video card, all the cards I could find were "no brand" and not supported aarrg). the 500$ for a split screen card did not seem worth it just to play with...

Paul

6. snakefeet

snakefeet Junior Member

I can't go back to one!

I used to think of dual screens as a bizarre luxury - like leather-grip pliers or a fur lined bicycle seat. But I was put on a workstation at work with two monitors and I'll never be able to draft on one screen again.

If cost is a problem, watch ebay for last years's model of dual-head card. I got myself a Matrox 450 for under $50 and it has done a great job under both Win2000 and RedHat 7.2.

7. Tom_McGuinness

Tom_McGuinness Junior Member

Multiple monitors is best

I've been using multiple monitors for the past 4 years. All you need is a second standard video card, which sell for less than $100 ea.