Resin not hardening...WHY?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Bill Brasky, Aug 4, 2010.

1. Bill Brasky

Bill Brasky Junior Member

I put 3 layers of glass and poly resin on the bottom of my boat, letting each layer dry before moving on. Everything went really smooth and all resin set up nice like it should. Then the very last spots that I did on the final layer, there are a bunch of spots that won't set up. Even after a day or two, still tacky. I tried going over them with more resin with lots of hardener, so it should have hardened in about 5 minutes, but its still tacky the next day. Did I get a bad batch or is it the humidity. I'm at a loss here, and wasting resin. Any help is appreciated.

2. TeddyDiver

TeddyDiver Gollywobbler

You could heat it up to ~70-90 Celsius with a hot air gun or with a halogen light. 10min in higher temp should be enough.. be aware of the fire risk..

3. tazmann

tazmann Senior Member

Hello Bill
    I am no expert on glassing but I have ran into the same problems before.
    In my case what it was. the hardner, It will go bad quickly after its opened and even quicker if left in the sunlight. What I do now anytime I am going to glass anything is get fresh tubes of harder and mix up a small test batch. This way I can make sure the ratio is right for the temp. and the hardner is good.
    Tom

4. magwas

magwas Senior Member

I guess you are talking about polyester.
    With epoxy, miscalculating the ratio can lead to the same result.
    Low temperature can considerably lengthen the time to cure. In the winter I had a model which took four days to cure in 18C, (with a very bad type of poliester).

5. Herman

Herman Senior Member

Uneven cure:

-bad mixing
    -scraping the last polyester from the mixing cup, and using it. (polyester which is on the walls of the mixing cup is hardly mixed with curing agent)
    -MEKP gone bad (less likely, then the whole batch would take longer to cure (geltime drift)