new to boats - looking for resources

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Christina, Jul 25, 2006.

1. Christina

Christina New Member

Hiya.

I am new to boats in general adn have just been given two professional fiberglass molds. Does anyone know of good webpages or articels that I can read to get started?

Thanks!

2. buckknekkid

buckknekkid Senior Member

I would say that this is the mother load. there are some very qualified members and a lot of good reading. Start by listing your own experience and then what you want to build. The molds, space and time are important:D

3. Toot

Toot Senior Member

No no no.. let her read articles first and get her head around what she is embarking on. THEN let her ask a bunch of questions once she's got the terminology and basics down. :)

I'm new here too and god knows I've spent a LOT of time looking up definitions and construction basics... even received some helpful links to clue me in to stuff I should already know.

Christina- My suggestion is, whenever you have any question, the first thing you should do is come up with a few applicable terms and then use the search function on this site to see what you can come up with. Quite often, whatever you are thinking about has been discussed countless times. In fact, I bet you could even search for "good sites" "beginning" "Boatbuilding" or something like that. Personally, I'm new here too so I don't really have a lot of favorites yet, otherwise I'd pass them along to you, but I've been surprised by the amount of information already available on this site if you just search around a little. :)

I'll be looking forward to answers to this question as well.

Cheers!

Ben

4. fiberglass jack

fiberglass jack Senior Member