I would like to build a small boat.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by silverslayer, Feb 17, 2008.

1. silverslayer

silverslayer New Member

I would like to build a small boat. 12' or under. I was thinking something like a craig cat. But it would not have to be a twin hull. I'm a metal detectorist/scuba diver. A boat that I could crawl onto would be great. I don't need the 40HP engine of the craig cat. A trolling motor would work, because the main lake that I hunt does not allow gas motors. But some thing stable is a must when crawling onto it with 75-100#s of gear. I was thinking fiberglass of some construction type. I have a little experience with plain old bondo brand resin. Example custom tricycle seat pan. But that is about the extent of it. I have lots of wood working experience. It would probably be cheaper to just buy a craig cat. But I like to build things. Any thoughts or advise would be great. Thanks.

2. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

Sorry no one replied to you sooner. I started out too many years ago with a small kit. There are many on the market and it's easy to research. Even this site has recommendations. You need to learn the language, Sheer, bilge, chine .... and the best way is to build a small boat starting with the materials you are most familiar with using. Rowing boats are good as are Kayaks and canoes. Build one that you will use, and enjoy. This site and the many forums are very helpful so don't hesitate to ask questions.

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

silverslayer,
    My advice:
    1) Budget $40 or so for a set of tried and tested plans
    2) Go for it!

Phil Bolger has designed a few small power skiffs that might fit your needs (simple build, suitable for electric power, stable with piles of gear); plans are sold by H.H. Payson at http://www.instantboats.com/powerboats.htm