Help layperson choose materials for small pilothouse build

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by shizlenut, Aug 1, 2010.

1. shizlenut

shizlenut Junior Member

Hoping to get some help choosing materials and advice on a small pilothouse I would like to construct on my 74 Boston Whaler. I am a amateur and have limited experience with fiberglass and no experience with composite construction. I am a heavy equipment mechanic/metal fabricator and have good "instincts" when it comes to various types of construction.

So my questions are these.

In general, if you were a competent layperson, what process/materials would you use to insure a sound construction without breaking the bank.

What materials are most forgiving for a new builder? wood or foam? something else?

can a layperson confidentaly hand lay fiberglass over foam/wood without vaccum bagging or other infusion process?

Are there any specific forum threads anyone can point me towards?

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

WOOD IS THE EASYEST TO WORK WITH AND GET THE BEST RESULTS !!Forget about vac bagging and infussion it not even worth a second thought !!:D

3. tinhorn

tinhorn Senior Member

I agree. On the other hand, I never like to see wood mixed up with fiberglass.

There are two relatively simple ways to go about your project. One would be to build a mold from plywood covered with Abitibi (that shiny white hardboard you see at Home Depot and in cheap apartment bathrooms). Then you can gelcoat the mold and lay up the part. It should look pretty classy.

The other way would be to lay up flat fiberglass panels on a slab (like the Abitibi), then cut them to size and join them together. Depending upon your joints, this might look good, too.

Either way, the product I would use instead of foam or wood is CoreMat. If you can't find it locally, some dude sells it on eBay.

4. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member