Hazardous materials/fumes in small spaces

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by rcgerard, Nov 17, 2005.

1. rcgerard

rcgerard New Member

Hello everyone,

I am a surfboard builder looking for advice from fellow watermen. Surfers have long looked to boat builders for design inspiration, so I figured I should do the same with this problem. I would greatly appreciate any advice you can offer.

I am currently setting up a new board shaping facility in a two car garage sperated from the main building by a small hallway. This space is in the Great Lakes, where our winters are obviously fairly long and cold.

My concern lies in finding a safe, efficient way to heat the space. In the past, in similar situations, I have used electric baseboard and space heaters with consistently safe results. However, I've heard that the resin and other hazardous material fumes (mekp, etc) may dangerously interact with even the electric heaters, let alone heaters with spark-ignition and open flames.

So, my question; what do boat builders and other fiberglass applicators do to safely and cost effectively heat in cold climate winters? I understand that many of the aforementioned do so on a larger scale, and therefore can afford the space and equipment needed to do so.

What is a small scale, "backyard" builder's best option in this situation?

Thanks again,
    rcgerard

2. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

Worried? Safest I know of is hotwater baseboard finned radiators. the heater or furnace can be in a 1' away, detached building. Heat loss from building to building would be very low due to the short distance. A heat failure runs the risk of freezing if water is used. Ethylene glyco 50%, same as a car may go low enough in your area. Drinking, cold and hot water for sink, remain the same.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member