Fibreglass kayak building

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by lisa_w, Aug 19, 2006.

1. lisa_w

lisa_w New Member

Hey, i'm pretty new at this, i was wondering if i can get some info about building fibreglass kayaks. I want to build a moderate sized sea kayak. I have built surfboards before, had no trouble. I just really have no idea on how i make the molds for the kayaks. i have a friend building a wooden kayak, i dont really want something wooden. So basically if anyone could help me out that would be awesome, any tips help.

2. frosh

frosh Senior Member

Hi Lisa, No-one in their right mind builds a fibreglass kayak (one only) by first building a mold and then taking a single kayak off the mold. What is wrong with a wooden boat anyway. I will give you a web site that sells plans and kits for wooden kayaks of many different designs of very high quality.
    You can always sheath the outer surface in fibreglass if you want a tougher surface finish.
    Any way, even if you could borrow a mold, the chances that your first attempt to produce a boat off the mold, unless you had expert help would not give you a really good result.
    I would go with a kit, as the quality of the finished product is virtually guaranteed as is the design, because you have some construction experience already.
    http://www.clcboats.com/boats/shearwater.php :)

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Welcome aboard, Lisa- good to see another Canadian around!