fairing compound

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by HWL, Feb 5, 2005.

1. HWL

HWL Junior Member

Is there a fairing compound I can use in the repair of fiberglass boat repair? I use basic car bondo now, but i'm hoping there is an easier sanding option,especially for larger areas. I am by no means a professional, just a back yard builder and repair man. Thanks for your help

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Nothing sands easier than Bondo.

3. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Actually, US paint, makers of Awl-Grip topcoat paints, makes a compound called Awl-Fair which is used extensively in boatbuilding on composite, wood, and metal boats.

Eric

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

AwlFair works very well, 3M Premium filler works good (vinylester and microspheres), 3M also makes a higher strength filler (vinylester and stranded glass) though harder to sand, Evercoat makes a Bondo like product called Formula 27 filler. I'm reasonably sure Marine Tex and BoatLife also make a filler, though have never used them.

I don't use Bondo type fillers (polyester) I've found they shake out in time if subject to much vibration.

5. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

Not only that - it absorps water and finally looses adhesion and crumbles, finally falls apart.

6. Herman

Herman Senior Member

Polyfair from ATC Chemicals. Very easy to sand. www.atc-chem.com, in the polyester dept.

7. Lew Morris

Lew Morris Industrial Designer

not as easy to use (you have to mix resin and filler) but a great product IMHO

West Systems Fairing Fillers:

8. Lew Morris

Lew Morris Industrial Designer

9. JR-Shine

JR-Shine SHINE

Our builders like Quickfair by System 3, very good stuff (epoxy based).

Joel

10. Capt. Chris

Capt. Chris Junior Member

West systems 410 fairing compound works well, but expensive. Buy their book on fairing and finishing has lots of good info. Good luck and don't forget a good respirator!!!.

Chris

11. Phil Locker