Dual to Center Console??

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Hou-Chap, Aug 25, 2004.

1. Hou-Chap

Hou-Chap Junior Member

My father recently gave me one of his older boats. It is a 1977 vhull 19' Chaparral runabout/bowrider/dual console. The boat is in immaculate shape. I just had the 150 outboard all tuned up, and to the surprise of the mechanic was in immaculate shape as well. I primarily will use this boat for fishing, and have really become spoiled by center console boats. The more I look at this boat, the more I think that a center console conversion could be possible. I have a great source for the center console itself, and can pick one up for around $200. I would have to cut and reglass the consoles out on each side. I am assuming I would have to reinforce/bolster under the deck where the center console would go. Since I am not planning on taking this boat out this summer, I will have all winter to fiddle on this project. I am a novice to boat building, but have taken on and completed many other ambitious projects. Has anyone out there done this before, or familiar with what some of this could entail?? I would obviously have to relocate helm controls, gauges, etc.. Just really looking for some feedback. This is a great boat that would make a great fishing rig, but due to the consoles/seats is cramped. I have learned alot just from reading the posts of this forum over the last few days. Any help/feedback would be greatly appreciated!! THX

2. Corpus Skipper

Corpus Skipper Hopeless Boataholic