Cloth Lap

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by alyeska, Aug 18, 2010.

1. alyeska

alyeska Junior Member

Hi Guys,
    Just want to know what the minimum overlap on cloth joins I can get away with. Layup is 1 x 450grm 0/90 double bias ( outside skin ) over 10mm corecell. Whats the best method of laping cloth so as to keep the joint "bump" small for ease of fairing?

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

Well,
    the minimum is zero, and that would solve the prob with fairing.

But that was not what you wanted to hear.

A bit more info about the structure you are building may help to get a answer you expect.

Regards
    Richard

3. tinhorn

tinhorn Senior Member

Zero overlap would be a butt joint. Bad idea. Since it's going over Corecell, I'd just sand a shallow groove in the foam wide enough for the overlap. Since I'm not an engineer, I'll leave it to others to recommend the amount of overlap.

1 person likes this.
  4. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Put a slight recess in the foam where the join will be so the join can be filled over rather than sanding it off . :confused:

5. alyeska

alyeska Junior Member

Thanks for the replies, will go with the rebate in the foam, I'm guessing 30mm overlap should be enough.

6. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Make the recess 35 mm wide and the depth of one layer of glass!! Wipe a layer of filler over the whole join before you sand the hardened resin and glass and press it into the join , let it set and then sand filler and glass level just a fraction below so when you wipe the top layer its sanded and gives a perfect finish . :p

7. apex1

apex1 Guest

Where is that guess based on?

You have a uncommon single layer setup here, and only 0,5 -0,6 mm laminate thickness. I would not (and did not) give any recommendation without knowing the whole story.

All nice thoughts tinhorn and tunnels, but to advise in a serious manner we have to know more about the application.

Regards
    Richard

8. alyeska