Boat painting questions....

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by futuresweets-10, May 23, 2006.

1. futuresweets-10

futuresweets-10 Junior Member

Alright guys, I will start out by saying that I know NOTHING about boats. I have been painting cars for a few years now and I have a boat that Im going to have to paint within the next few days so I have some questions. Its a 32 foot boat and its all white right now (thats all I know about it). he wants the top half painted blue and leave the bottom white. I know I am going to use Dupont imron paint. I assume that the boat is gelcoat now and not painted. What is the propper procedure for painting over gelcaot? Will I need to prime it? Does it need to be a specail primer made for gelcoat or just a regular automotive primer? Anything else I should know?

2. fiberglass jack

fiberglass jack Senior Member

u will have to sand the gelcoat and wipe it down really good as there is years of wax probally has been put on it over the years and most of them have silacone so your going to have a problem with fish eyes if you dont.sand with 120 and shoot a high build priemer automotive is fine works for corrovettes it will work for boat just fine.then use a sealer primer the reason i said to use a high build is that when u sand the gelcoat u may and probally will open up a lot of pin holes so the trick is to try and bury them ,for the bottom thats below the water line imrons not the best as it is designed for transport use and not marine and is not suitable for the bottom on the top is ok. u should use a epoxy paint interlux make a 2 stage antifouling bottom paint that you can spray on it comes in white ,also interlux sells a wash i think its called 202 and works good to wash the wax off

3. futuresweets-10