Woking while in school

Discussion in 'Education' started by Design_1, Dec 15, 2008.

1. Design_1

Design_1 Water Logged Hack

I am a marine designer with an A.S.S. in Computer Aided Drafting and Design. This is backed with 13 years experience in the marine industry. It is difficult to return to school, full time, at the age of 35 with a family of four to support. I am willing to put in the time it takes and work full time. Can anyone suggest a good university or college that would enable me to so, without costing me everything I make working to support my family? I am willing to move anywhere that will allow me to finish with a Yatch design degree.

Regards,
    Camual

2. Ilan Voyager

Ilan Voyager Senior Member

I don't know it it will fit with the diploma you're looking for, but there is a possible solution the Westlawn Institute of Marine Technology, www.westlawn.org/.

Very good designers (King, Gerr etc...) of yachts have studied in this institution and the diploma has good value. I wish you good luck and cheers.

3. Design_1

Ilan-
    Thanks for your reply. I have looked at Westlawn. I have also looked at MacNaughton's Yatch Design School. Does anyone have any input on them?
    I would prefer to attend a school that has campus study with ample work close by.

Regards,
    Camual

4. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

That's an admirable decision. My best wishes, really. :)

5. Design_1

Thanks daiquiri.

6. Ilan Voyager

Ilan Voyager Senior Member

The input I have about the Westlawn is good; the school is old enough (78 years) to prove its value. Good designers come from the Westlawn: I have met one in France and he knew his job in yacht design. Also the diploma has a true national value as being recognized by different organisms.