Where to go from The Landing School

Discussion in 'Education' started by solbergg, Sep 30, 2003.

1. solbergg

solbergg New Member

Hello all,

This is my first post on the boatdesign.net boards. There appears to be quite a wealth of knowledge collectively offered by the patrons of it.

I am currently enrolled in The Landing School yacht design program. I am loving the course and am learning quite a bit, but I am concerned about what my next step into the marine industry will be. I would prefer to get a job upon graduation, but realize that it is very unlikely, since I have limited nautical and engineering experience.

If unable to earn a design position, my basic options are to attend more schooling to achieve a Naval Architecture degree, or to do an alternate marine-related job.

Does anyone have any ideas about possible compliments to a Landing School education? I have a Bachelor of Arts in Economics, but am young enough (23) to be able to work for a BS (although perhaps a bit poor). I looked into the Coast Guard and Naval academies, but I am apparently too old for them.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

2. Guest

Guest Guest

Coast Guard

If you are interested, you might be eligible for Coast Guard Officers Candidate School.

This is a 17 week program for people who already have degrees:

http://www.cga.edu/ldc/officercandidateschool/officercandiateschool.htm

After you make LT, they send officers to graduate school (at their expense, with pay).

You can also try for an MS at UMICH, UCB, etc. This will take longer than if you already had a BS in engineering, but is common.

Note though that the job market in rec boat design is practically nil, regardless of your education. There just aren't enough boats being designed. It's a very small market.

3. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member