| ||||
|
#1
| |||
| |||
| Westlawn site an attack site??!!?? EDIT::!! Don't try GOING to the Westlawn website!! Firefox web browser keeps hanging up and taking all the processor's computing power and I fear that even though I'm using Linux I may indeed, HAVE MALWARE!! =0/ I was trying to look through the pictures on the site and get attack warnings from Google. This is what I'm seeing : ![]() Uploaded with ImageShack.us WHYYYYY!?! |
|
#2
| ||||
| ||||
| Because evidently the host/maintainer of the site is not doing a good job in keeping it free of malware. |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
| Oh =0( My firefox browser is messing up now I wouldn't go there!!! |
|
#4
| ||||
| ||||
| Have you tried sending an email or PM to Dave Gerr, the head of Westlawn? He's a member of this forum under the name dgerr. I think he might want to know if there is a problem with their website.
__________________ Ike "Don't tell me that I can't. Tell me how I can!" New Boatbuilders Home Page Boat Builder News Blog My Boating Safety Blog |
|
#5
| ||||
| ||||
| I sent Dave a PM. In firefox and Chrome you get the warning. In IE it takes you to an Emma Watson Video???? Whats with that? In Safari you get nothing. Same with Opera.
__________________ Ike "Don't tell me that I can't. Tell me how I can!" New Boatbuilders Home Page Boat Builder News Blog My Boating Safety Blog |
|
#6
| ||||
| ||||
| It means that the site-hosting company needs an IT security manager. |
|
#7
| ||||
| ||||
| I got an email from Dave. They got hacked. They know about it, they are cleaning it up. He didn't say how long it would take, but they are working on it.
__________________ Ike "Don't tell me that I can't. Tell me how I can!" New Boatbuilders Home Page Boat Builder News Blog My Boating Safety Blog |
|
#8
| |||
| |||
| Good to know, I sure as heck didn't know what to do about it. =0) I hope they can get it fixed and find the stinker. |
|
#9
| ||||
| ||||
| Parts of the Westlawn website were attacked by a hacker bot. It's the kind of bot that goes around looking for sites to hit automatically in the hopes of planting malware that the bot's creator can profit from. We're in the process of cleaning up and resetting. In fact, the site should be clean now, but it takes a while for the Google warning to be removed. May take a couple more weeks to get all aspects of the site reset and rebuilt, but it's in process. Dave Gerr, Director Westlawn Institute of Marine Technology www.westlawn.edu |
|
#10
| |||
| |||
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| if you go to my site | va11240 | Motorsailers | 0 | 09-19-2011 02:52 AM |
| New to site! | TonyK2675 | Boat Design | 2 | 07-14-2011 11:11 PM |
| site trouble | wardd | Forum Questions and Suggestions | 43 | 09-15-2010 05:50 AM |
| So this is where all those referals to my site come from! | TCP Bob | Open Discussion: All Things Boats & Boating | 14 | 01-03-2007 01:04 AM |
| My Personal Site | sharkeymarine | Open Discussion: All Things Boats & Boating | 2 | 11-03-2002 08:08 AM |