Small Craft design for a mechanical engineer

Discussion in 'Education' started by sc0, Apr 28, 2008.

1. sc0

sc0 Junior Member

I've been interested in taking courses in small craft / yacht design for a few years now, and am looking for feedback on suitable routes. I finished a mech engineering degree in 2004, and have since been doing mechanical design in marine fields (remotely operated vehicles and high-speed craft).

I've worked with graduates from Southampton Solent University; they've recommended that I go that route (an undergrad in Yacht and Power craft design)... and I'm also considering Southampton Uni's MSc (Yacht and Small Craft).

Because of my interest in design, I'd like to go in a direction that will eventually enable me to practice naval architecture in Canada. Small pleasure and commercial craft are of most interest for some reason. Can anyone (or all of you at once!) comment on my two options in Southampton and/or offer any other words of wisdom regarding further education?

Thanks in advance! -Scott

2. limeyus

limeyus Junior Member

Solent Uni has a great course (I'm a grad), but, with a Mech Eng degree you already have a good background in the engineering side, a lot of it will be very familiar. The MSc may be a better bet
    I just hired a Mech Eng student who had gone back to the Landing School for a year, seems like a good compromise!
    Not sure how it works in Canada but in the US with a mech eng degree you could take the Nav Arch exam for Professional Engineer
    See that you are in Victoria, are you able to work in the US? I have an opening!

3. DavidJ

DavidJ Senior Member

Hello Scott. I am from Victoria, B.C. though I am not there now. Actually, I know a mechanical engineer there named Scott. I don't think you are him, but if you are my info still applies.