Principles of Naval Architecture

Discussion in 'Education' started by ctosuner, Mar 4, 2007.

1. ctosuner

ctosuner New Member

Hi all,

I am a naval architect and would like improve myself about yacht design. In order to reach my aim I may enroll to the course such as Westlawn in the near future. But for now I am looking forward to having some publications about that subject. First I thought Principles of Naval Architecture(PNA) of SNAME would benefit me all about naval construction principles including small crafts and took it from a library and found it too complex and almost only for commercial ships. What do you guys think about it?

My aim is to combine my naval architecture fundemental (my theorical knowledge is not so deep) with yacht design principles. That's why I've dissapointed about PNA. I am currently working in a boatyard that fiberglass boats are produced, so I have practical experience instead of theorical. I am looking for some books for my aim. And also do you recommend Westlawn someone like me? I need to be able to design yachts professionally from preliminary to the systems with all the engineering calculations. So what is your advice?

Thanks for instance for your replies.

2. RANCHI OTTO

RANCHI OTTO Naval Architect

Send a boat designed by you..only to have an idea...

3. Patrick BLOSSE

Patrick BLOSSE La Terre entière.

Overlook on yacht design

Hello,

For a quick glance at that so fine art, I must bear witness to a remarquable comprehensive work: "Principles of Yacht Design", from L.LARSSON & R.E.ELIASSON (Ed. Adlard Coles Nautical, London); taking thread from a 40 footer overall design from the architect point of view.

Kindly.

Patrick, from Paris, France

4. ctosuner

ctosuner New Member

Thanks Patrick for your recommendation, I was also considering that book. But if it is only from an architect point of view, it may not be technical enough?