From Mechanical Engineering to Small Craft/Naval Architecture

Discussion in 'Education' started by M.Ezell, Oct 2, 2008.

1. M.Ezell

M.Ezell Engineer, PE

Good Day All,

I am a Mechanical Engineer with a B.S in Engineering and 13 years of engineering experience outside of the marine field. My career has been a good mix of design/project engineering and project management and I'm a registered PE in the state of Oregon. I have extensive skill with AutoCAD, Mechanical Desktop, and Inventor. I'm currently learning Rhino and DeftShip.

I have always had a keen interest in Naval Architecture and over the last couple of years I've been studying it on my own. My studies so far have been primarily in small craft and yachts, mostly because it's easier to find technical books on this subject, but have touched on ship naval architecture. I've listed part of my library in my profile.

I have several Questions:

What qualifications would I need to present myself as a reasonable candidate for an engineering position at a Naval Architecture Consulting Firm, Port, or Ship/Boat Yard?

In the absence of a degree in Naval Architecture, how could I demonstrate that I have the needed qualifications to present myself to the above as a viable candidate?

Would a degree from either Westlawn or YDS combined with my Engineering B.S. be enough to qualify me for the Above?

Anyone out there know of a firm looking for a Mechanical Engineer excited to learn more?
    Mark-

2. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

Mark,

It is not so much how many degrees you have mate, it is experience in the field that matters, too many paper pushers have been given positions in boatyards and stuffed things up real bad, go get a job hands on and learn from others just what is needed, the degrees are great starters to understand the game fundamentals, but nothing beats the guys that have hands on experiences.