Master's degree in Naval Architecture

Discussion in 'Education' started by v-p-k, Aug 6, 2008.

1. v-p-k

v-p-k Junior Member

Hi Everyone :) !

I got My BEng Degree in Boat Manufacturing last spring and I would be interested to continue my studies if I find a cheap Master Degree in Naval Architecture.

I heard there are these english two year Master Degrees in Chalmers,DTU and Delf.

Is there some other options I should consider?

Thanks

VPK

2. Jarppi

Jarppi New Member

I'm almost in the same situation. Soon graduating and I guess same school that you did. I thought that at least Chalmers is free, am I wrong?
    But what about the list of universities that they qualify? At least my school isn't on that list, so I have to get some kind of authorization that my school is good enough.

3. v-p-k

v-p-k Junior Member

Hi/Terve Jarppi!

Last time I checked, Chalmers didn't have any fees, neither did DTU (Technical University of Denmark). If you are doing your Master in Delf, you have to pay (as EU/EFTA national born after August 31st 1978) 1,565€ per year. In these Universities it is possible to get your Master in two years and all the courses are taught in English.

Please correct me if someone has more accurate info.

Your school good enough? I don't know about that. I guess it depends on what kind of BEng Degree you have (example MECHANICAL ENGINEERING), your GPA, TOEFL test, CV and Essay about your motivation for the MSc-programme.

I would be happy to hear other options too...

Thanks

VPK

4. Jarppi

Jarppi New Member

Have you visited http://www.studera.nu? It's the place where you can apply to universities in sweden. If you check requirements for master level, it says:

A Bachelor's degree (equivalent to a Swedish Kandidatexamen/ 180 HE credits) from an internationally recognised university. The university has to be listed in the latest edition of the International Handbook of Universities.
    http://www.unesco.org/iau/onlinedatabases/list.html