From Civil Engineer to Yacht Design?

Discussion in 'Education' started by iukaman, Jan 9, 2008.

1. iukaman

iukaman New Member

Hello,

I am in my last school at a University in Memphis, TN, USA. I decided to study in Civil Engineering. My emphasis study is structural engineering/analysis. I worked as an intern at a Civil Engineering firm for 2.5 years doing several structural designs and cost estimates. I really did not enjoy all the desk work. I feel that I want to be out on the water every so often. Now, to my question....

I want to get into Yacht Design whether it is the exterior or interior layout. I would even love to do testing of the boats. I have been on the water since I can remember, and want to make my life dealing with boats. Main thing...don’t want to sit at a desk all day long. I want to be on the water. I want some advice from people on what I should do. Maybe some companies that are interested in bringing a person that have engineering background up to speed. I want to stay in the states for sure, and would prefer the south east region. But if not, no biggie. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!! I can provide more information or even an up-to-date resume!

Thanks in advance!!

2. Ike

Ike Senior Member

Start sending out resume's. There are a couple thousand boat manufacturers in the south eastern US, 700 in Florida alone (although Genmar is closing their factory in Sarasota). North Carolina has a very active boatbuilding community well supported by the state. So go for it.

Downside? sales are shrinking right now. As far as I know no one is laying off people but the boatbuilding industry is a predictor of what is happening in the economy at large. If sales start going down that means people are leery about the economy and hanging on to their cash.

Anyway, publications like Proffesional Boatbuilder and Wooden boat have job listings. Go for it. And the forum is a good place to network.

3. iukaman

iukaman New Member