volvo marine vs ford 351 windsor

Discussion in 'DIY Marinizing' started by kennyharding, May 22, 2005.

1. kennyharding

kennyharding New Member

Hi
    I'm not sure if anyone can help me on this quiz. I am an auto mechanic trying to help out a friend who has a seized volvo marine engine. The engine is now out of the boat and stripped in the workshop. On examination of various parts eg pistons, block, rods, crank, bearings etc etc I've noticed that everything has a ford stamp on it. I belive that this volvo engine is a ford 351 windsor in disguise. Can anyone tell me if I can use off the shelf parts from a frod auto dealer to repair this engine with. Basically I'll need 8 pistons and rings, big end and main bearings, oil filter and I'll also need a full gasket set although I believe I'll need to use a stainless head gasket to prevent erosion. Engine serial number is 4110122883 and spec number is 3868324. If anyone can give me some direction on this as I'm trying to sort this out in Thailand where parts are limited for Ford let alone volvo marine.
    Kenny

2. PowerTech

PowerTech Senior Member

You canot use of the shelf auto pistons you could probly use auto bearings.You are corect about the head gasket.You can use high performance auto parts from a hot rod supply catalog like P.A.W. ,JEGS,or summit.you need forged pistons.there is a huge aftermarket for marine gas parts try looking up sierra marine they should have you covered.How did it sieze up.You need to take a real good look at the exhaust manifolds Gas engines cast iron manifolds are garbage

3. kennyharding

kennyharding New Member

Hi
    Thanks for that, I've looked at sierra marine and will call them tomorrow. Would you have any idea how I'd cross referance parts across from volvo to ford, eg the bearings and pistons, the hot rod people may not recognise volvo marine numbers etc?

4. PowerTech

PowerTech Senior Member