Rhino Questions

Discussion in 'Software' started by CET, Dec 4, 2005.

1. CET

CET Senior Member

I’m just beginning to learn to use Rhino and have run into a couple of questions I’m hoping the experienced users here can help with.

Firstly, if possible, I would like to import the outline of an existing hull in the form of an image (jpg, tif, etc.) so I can “trace” it to duplicate the lines in Rhino. I know some programs are capable of this but don’t know whether Rhino is one of them. Is there a way to do this in Rhino?

Secondly, how does one develop a “cubics” surface in Rhino. I read somewhere that if one is designing a hull with all developable surfaces, it is best to do so using cubics, but I’ve been unable to find how to do that in Rhino.

Any help with these questions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Charlie

2. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

Here is how I do it for a rough outline of a photo shape.

With the "TOP" viewport maximised-click "VIEW" then "BACKGROUND BITMAP" then "PLACE" . Select your photo and place on grid. (you'll figure that part out) Trial and error wil teach you how to size it. If you get it wrong go back thru the previous command sequence and you will find a remove button. Try again. When happy start drawing over it. You'll be surprised how accurate you can get them with some practice. Part of the trick is in how you shoot the picture. (Centering and maximizing frame etc.) I use it to pick up shapes for many uses where absolute accuracy is not criticle.

3. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

If you have a single straight line measurement from the photographed object, you can then scale the new drawing by going to "TRANSFORM" then "SCALE". I presume you have a manual to help you from there?

4. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder