Problem with Delftship plates scaling

Discussion in 'Software' started by Rocky Mtn Russ, Oct 6, 2014.

1. Rocky Mtn Russ

Rocky Mtn Russ Junior Member

I'm new to using DelftshipPro. I have designed a S&G tandem kayak, and was able to "unfold" to see the plates. I've built a Pygmy Coho, so I'm familiar with the build process but since this is my first kayak design, I decided to make a scaled model before proceeding with the full size boat.

From inside the "unfold" window, I had Delftship save the file as a .dxf file. I then used a free program to view, scale, and print paper patterns for the 1/6th scale model. All of that went without a hitch. The model went together using 1/16th inch plywood. No problems with the bends or anything, and the model looks like it should.

So I decided to get a price on having the panels cut on a cnc machine. I sent the 2D dxf file of the plates to the first guy (Washington) and he couldn't get the file to open using Rhino.

Sent the same file to the 2nd and 3rd guys (Florida and Maryland). The guys in Florida have no problem opening the file, but the scale is wrong. When they open it, it is in inches. When I view it in Delftship it is in feet, as it should be. There are no selections to set units in that "unfold" window.

I tried to search for answers on the Delftship forum, but it seems to be down for maintenance.

Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks.

Russ

2. mick_allen

mick_allen -

I don't know what or if you're doing anything wrong, but what about opening another layer and includind a dead flat panel that is 12 feet by 1 foot within your unfolded dxf file.
    Then ask the cnc plate suppliers to use that as the scale check or rescaling check.

[I would guess that the plates are 1/12 too small.]

3. Rocky Mtn Russ