Interior furniture in Rhino

Discussion in 'Software' started by catsketcher, Mar 30, 2006.

1. catsketcher

catsketcher Senior Member

Hello all,

I am drawing a 7 metre cat which is a development of a little 5.9 metre folding cat I have built. I want to CNC cut this next boat rather than cut it out by hand so I have to get DXF files.

I have imported a Freeship hull into Rhino with Iges and have started to get quite a nice hull, much like her smaller sistership. I have quite a lot of trouble getting the bulkheads and furniture to trim easily. Am I doing something wrong like not offsetting the hull skin and then putting all the interior skin into one layer? Sometimes I can't even get the bulkheads to trim even after splitting and selecting all items as cutting objects. This is done in desperation after nothing trims properly.

I quite like Rhino as it is like Autocad which I have some background with but what is the easiet way to develop interior patterns from a hull? Trim seems hard work.

And another thing, sometimes my decks don't curve properly but go segmented on me. I seem to have fixed it but I don't really know why.

Thanks in advance - Oh yeah, I am supposed to start building in 8 weeks.

cheers

Phil

2. Windvang

Windvang Yacht Designer

I use the section command to draw bulkheads in Rhino. Make a section at the place you want a bulkhead. Clean up the cross section you just have created, draw in holes, doors etc. (make sure there are nog gaps!, join all borders) Finally make the bulkhead a solid at the desired thickness.

You can offset the hull, or, slightly less accurate, offset the hull in the cross-section. This is much easier and cleaner than trying to trim a surface.

3. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

I've had similar problems when importing from external code, but it's not Rhino's fault.