Hull plate development

Discussion in 'Software' started by scormack, Jul 14, 2005.

1. scormack

scormack Simon Cormack

I have been using maxsurf and workshop for 7 years now and plated around 100 boats with great success. At my last company I had Workshop Pro but now only Workshop/p (plating only). I thought this would be fine as we use solid work or VX Works for hull internals which allows a lot greater detail then full workshop. The big problem I have is that I used to use stringers in workshop pro to produce curved plate edges. Since switching to workshop/P I had to start modeling surfaces in maxsurf to intersect the hull in the desired curve or use my old, now un licenced version of worshop/pro, to do the plating. This is now causing problems and I decided I would have to get a new copy of workshop pro. I am now reconsidering as it is an extra £2000 just to get curved plate edges which I believe should be a basic function of the plating software.

Does anyone have any suggestions of other plating software either including modeling packages or which can import Maxsurf IGES files? Or a cracked up to date version of workshop pro. I would normally not entertain such a consideration but I have asked Formation to allow curved plates to no avail and I cannot justify another £2000 on top of the £11,000 I have already paid for the software which allows you to plate a boat like a brick house.

2. Andrew Mason

Andrew Mason Senior Member

Simon

I appreciate that you don't have access to the stringer paths as plate boundaries in Workshop/P, however you have a lot of other options for plate boundaries.

Were you aware that in addition to using surface edges, sections, waterlines, buttocks and diagonals for plate edges, you could also use the suface's iso-parametric lines, intersection lines with other surfaces, as well as completely arbitrary inclined planes (using the inclined sections option).