hull design / furniture design

Discussion in 'Software' started by bogeyinthekeys, Sep 8, 2005.

1. bogeyinthekeys

bogeyinthekeys Junior Member

Hi There,

I am new at this so excuse the dumb questions.

I am trying to educate myself on the manufacturing process of boat hulls so that I can figure out how to produce a furniture prototype. I thought this was a great place to start. I am looking for a flexible material that I can bend to put in a jig that creates a variety of radiuses. With the material in place, I want to freeze it in a position created by the jig with some sort of epoxy. Being a stool, it must be able to support the weight of someone sitting on it ! Is this possible ?

Hope someone can help me out.
    Thanks, Heidi

2. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

Heidi,

The toda's interior builders and furniture makers use so called "mock-ups" to prepare their interior parts for later installation the hull. You use the off sets of the waterlines to determine the shape of the hull.
    A bit of practise in this particular case is necessary.

3. yipster

yipster designer

i was getting the impression bogey in the keys wants a end product that is still flexable like forexample glued layers of wood in a stool.
    for non flexing boat interior honeycomb paper, sandwiched, can be used.
    yet both applications can be done with a variety of materials
    why posted under software and not boatbuilding?

4. ludesign

ludesign Senior Member

On the TouchCAD site you will find demo movies showing both hull fairing, furniture design and how to convert it into something that you can build physically. www.touchcad.com -> Click on Tutorials.

5. bogeyinthekeys

hull/furniture design

Thanks for the reply.

I think that is what I need to watch to understand the process. I don't want to make my stool out of wood though, more like aluminum or extruded aluminum, but the mock-up could be made from foam maybe coated with epoxy resin ?

6. bogeyinthekeys

furniture design