Free!Ship Waterline/Displacement query

Discussion in 'Software' started by kaymaran, Dec 8, 2015.

1. kaymaran

kaymaran Previous Member

Apologies if I am being hopless this is my first attempt at using Free!Ship. I have previously built a CLC Sport Tandem kayak and converted it into a trimaran using the Mk3 sailrig with some interesting results (I also added an RS200 jib and a mizzen mast cut down from a windsurfer resulting in quite sprightly performance) and now want to make a more focused pure trimaran without the compromises.

I've looked at various plans out there and although some are close to what I am looking for there are various things that don't quite stack up to what I want so do something from scratch appears to be the answer.

I have an outline of the main hull and outrigger shapes but am trying to work out how I can add the estimated total weight to the design and then see how deep the main hull will be sitting in the water whilst still.

I want the outriggers to be just out of the water or lightly touching so knowing where the main hull will sit I can then get the hieght of the outriggers and the angle of the cross beams sorted.

I will will be using an ISO dinghy rig as the basis for the project and it will be 4.5m long with the same length outriggers all with a good amount of forward volume to reduce any pitchpoling tendencies as the rig should be quite powerful.

Both hull and outriggers to hopefully have planing qualities resulting in a sort of Weta alternative.

The plan is to make a small scale model shortly and crack into the initial build february time.

I can see about setting the weight of the layers and have effectively bulked them up to the 100kg target weight plus the combined crew weight of 130kg but I don't how to find where the water level will be. I assume Free!Ship can do this?

The design draft appears to be just an arbitrary figure as far as I can see?

Any help appreciated - I am likely missing something obvious.