Delftship to maxsurf . . . How to ?

Discussion in 'Software' started by H50, Dec 16, 2009.

1. H50

H50 New Member

Hi, forum newbie here.

Reading this forum for decades now and never registered.
    After a lot of hours playing around with FREEship and later Delftship I would
    like to export my work and import it in Maxsurf.

Can anyone point me in the right direction here ?

Thanks

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi H50,

IGES is probably the most convenient format in which to transfer a model from Freeship to most surface-based modellers.

Freeship, and the pro versions of Delftship, can export IGES surfaces that most 3D CAD programs can import and use.

3. fcfc

fcfc Senior Member

Not very easy, because they do not use the same mathematical surface representation. Freeship uses subdivision surface, maxsurf uses NURBS. (Freeship can use triangular surface , Maxsuf cannot.)

You can go thru IGES import/xport. But freeship will first translate its subdivision surface into a bunch of small NURB surface that will approximate the subdivision surface. You will get in Maxsurf (or rhino) a bunch of surfaces with a bunch of control points, even if you have a simple surface with few control points in Freeship.

4. yipster

yipster designer

have 3.2 free here, you'r meaning old freeship and Delfship 3.2 PRO exports igis?
    ah, didnt know that, still post my question couse i dont know what a VIZ block is
    delftship 3.2 free polylines into max gives me a VIZ block, what is a VIZ block?
    it extrudes in a vertical way and turns to nurb but not it into a surface
    btw, how you check deadrise? with a geotriangle off a printout or what?

Attached Files:

5. yipster

yipster designer

6. formsys

formsys formsys

Just tested Freeship to Maxsurf with the FS tug sample and it seems to go through fine via IGES. (see attached) As mentioned above, the triangular corners may be broken up into a few small surfaces but these are pretty easy to delete and correct.