CFD rudder test

Discussion in 'Software' started by nico, Jun 9, 2003.

1. nico

nico Senior Member

Hi,

I am currently testing a rudder in a demo cfd package. I am new to CFD and very much still experimenting. I have some problems and questions:

*what are the minimum cells number and maximum cells sizes for meaningfull results

*what should be the computionnal domain

* i have some problems with the forces output: the second one "viscous" looks fine but the first one called "pressure forces" gives big results too big almost 4 * viscous forces for 0° of attack what does pressure forces means here?

*about the viscous models to be used?

*and finally what should be the boundary conditions: i have looked at many tutorials and several ideas are seen:
    *Velocity inlet all around the model except at the back with an Outflow
    *Velocity inlet all around the model except at the back with an Pressure Oulet
    *Velocity inlet + Walls +an Outflow
    *Velocity inlet + Symetry +an Outflow (only for 0° attck)

Thank u

2. Dim

Dim Senior Member

CFD rudder test.

Hi, Nico.

I have transmitted your problem to the address www.flowvision.ru
    The Russian team "Tesis" has developed the powerful program "Flowvision". They the experts in area CFD.
    Probably we soon shall meet their remarkable collective.
    They the participants of the project SeaLaunch:
    http://www.sea-launch.com

Dim.

3. Dim

Dim Senior Member

Sorry.

Nico,
    I not seems could to you help. I do not like long to wait. My message to "Òesis" can has got in spam?
    Dim.:confused: :(

4. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

I don't know what method the software uses, nor what grid it works on. If I can download the demo, then I can take a good shot at answering your questions.

In respect to the walls: