CAD tiredness

Discussion in 'Software' started by SeaSpark, Apr 25, 2006.

1. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Question for everybody working with CAD software for a long time.

I have been working with CAD software for many years. The last years i have become increasingly sick with it. In the beginnings it was exiting to see a drawing or model grow on my screen. Nowadays, even when working on a really good project, i just don't like making drawings this way anymore.

Does anyone recognise this?

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Mm hmm.
    And I'm fairly new at it too! Something's always giving you trouble.... a wonky IGES importer, a model file that got filed away somewhere you can't find it....
    Nevertheless, I'm sticking with it. I still do my first sketches on paper, but when you gotta fit everything in to a limited and odd-shaped space, and have it line up, and analyze the stresses on it... CAD's the way to go.
    And I still get some satisfaction out of seeing ALGOR twist my nice smooth model into a rainbow-coloured pretzel ;)

3. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

CAD benefits

Would never question the benefits of CAD and software to analyse CAD models we cannot just throw these tools away.

It's that the whole process of making a CAD drawing/model has become increasingly boring to me despite the improvements in software and interface.

4. solrac

solrac 100% sudaca

As a moderator on an Engineering & Architecture forum, I've just seen this discussion before, don't loose the focus:
    Cad is only a tool, one good tool for some tasks,regular for others, and really stinky for the rest. Still not invented the "universal perfect tool" for all tasks, (even the "perfection" can be defined in million ways, depending on who defines it.
    Please do not blame the tool, the issue is not there, taking from it as much juice as possible is a question of mastering Cad, and interfacing it to aditional tools for each required task.