Beginner wanting to transition away from pencil designs

Discussion in 'Software' started by sph77, Oct 17, 2013.

1. sph77

sph77 New Member

First post here. I am a beginning boat builder. I've built 3 stitch and glue boats that were small duck hunting boats over the past two years. I have been modifying designs on paper and then building the boats. I have a couple of new designs in my head that I'd like to experiment with but thought it would be cool to try using a computer program to design a scale model that I could then have printed out on a 3D printer since sometimes the designs turn out different than I imagined. I'm not sure how to go about doing it since I haven't used any design software before. The boats are very simple, just a short modified V hull. Any suggestions on where to start?

Here's my last boat:
    [​IMG]

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

3. sph77

sph77 New Member

WOW! Those classes are over $500/day. Do any programs come with really good instructions where I wouldn't have to take a class?

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Although some people could not agree with me, I think AutoCAD, while working in ships, if you already have a body lines plan with the frames, longitudinal profile and water lines, is the most accurate tool to build 3D models. These models then can be exported to any of the many programs that make naval architecture calculations.
    And if I recommend AutoCAD is primarily because the help files system and tutorials it has, if working properly, will avoid you to pay for these courses so expensive that you can find on the web.

5. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Check with the adult education program where you live. I took the class here for less than $100. It was a good value.

Edit: I just looked for the course I took and could not find it. Their full time drafting class is total $4900 now. I am glad I was sitting down when I read that.

That does cover 1700 hours of classroom activity.