Autoship to AutoCAD - how to create a DXF

Discussion in 'Software' started by nikkos5, Nov 24, 2010.

1. nikkos5

nikkos5 Junior Member

Hello all,

I'm a marine engineering student and I'm writing my final project which consits on designing a fishing boat. The thing is that I already developed the hull in Autoship, but when I try to create the DXF in order to edit the plan in AutoCAD I get some crazy thing. I think this is because of the settings, I'm trying everything but I don't get it right. So this is what I do:

1. I choose the group that forms the surface of the hull.
    2. I choose Export in DXF.
    3. I try some settings in the dialog box.
    4. I create the document in DXF.
    5. I get something very weird in AutoCAD.

So I attached an image that shows the dialog box with the settings I chose and the resulting image I get in AutoCAD. Thank you very much in advance.

Attached Files:

2. zeroname

zeroname Naval Architect

uncheck the Frames, All views , see what happen.. need to check the autoship design too.

3. nikkos5

nikkos5 Junior Member

I tried that and nothing. I uploaded the autoship design I hope there is more luck this time, thank you very much anyway.

Attached Files:

• PFC.pr3
      PFC.pr3
      File size:
      40.5 KB
      Views:
  4. zeroname

zeroname Naval Architect

check if that work for you. version 9.2 work good with your file. exported normally without changing any settings.

Attached Files:

5. nikkos5

nikkos5 Junior Member

Thank you very much, it finally works. Did you do something special? I still don't get what was working wrong.

6. zeroname

zeroname Naval Architect

no . i did nothing special. may be its problem with ur version or license. i dont know.

7. nikkos5

nikkos5 Junior Member

Thank you zeroname, I solved the problem, and it was the units, that I had meters as outcome unit and it has to be mm so it doesn't go crazy. Thanks again you have helped me a lot. See you in the forums!!