3D model to drawing

Discussion in 'Software' started by LP, Dec 21, 2005.

1. LP

LP Flying Boatman

I've been dinking around with modeling software for a few years now. I've done some professional stuff with "Ideas" software. I've never had to create a the drawing though. Modeling a boat hull has proved inself to be an onerous task, but I've finally beaten my CAD software into submission.

Anyway, I'm present with the task of converting my model into an engineering drawing. I'm afraid that I may need to purchase different software for the task. My current modeling software is TurboCad V8.2. Please no guffaws from the peanut gallery. :p Before I go through the learning curve on this pitiful software, I was hoping for some input as to what others do and the products they use in regard to drawing production. I'm looking at upgrading Rhino, but I don't believe that will help me in this regard.

2. CGN

CGN Senior Member

What do you have?, solids like an ACIS type?, I see you mention TCad 8.2 is it the pro version?, do you have only the hull?, or all the boat parts?

1- From a 3D model, I just cut sections from my hull model and I use this sections to draw the structure, only if is an area or an assembly that is "tricky" then I model the parts using a 3D software that can model solids, and from there I can extract any view that I need and export it as dwg to a CAD software,

2- Use something like a MCAD (short version) and model the structure there, use the 2D drawing feature so I can extract whatever view or section I need. and once I have the 2D drawing with all views and sections export to a CAD program to finalize the dimensioning or text.

3- Use Rhino or TouchCAD to do it all, plus a CAD software

Try to model using a software that can save files like iges, Sat, Step etc..

FreeShip
    Prosurf
    CMS IntelliCAD
    Alibre
    Rhino3D