2D => 3D hull... need to read up how this works...

Discussion in 'Software' started by rvt, May 8, 2006.

1. rvt

rvt Junior Member

Hi all,

I have the following lining (see attached image, they come origionally from a old drawing) in 2D in AutoCAD and now I need to create a 3D model of the the lining (in Pro Engineer Wildfire). Where can I read upon how these lining are projected so I can setup the same projection in Pro/E to make the hull?

Ries
    (Note: I am a newbie on this)

Attached Files:

2. dereksireci

dereksireci Senior Member

Sections

Looks like you have hull sections. First thing is make sure it is to scale. If not re-size it so that it is.
    What you need to do is to give the sections elevation to create a 3d form. Pick a point on the geometry for your origin and move the curves to 0,0,0. I like the centerline at the keel but it is not important as long as it works for you.
    Next take each section, determine how far away from the origin it is and move it that distance in the z direction. In other words lift each section off the page, away from the transom. After you've done so you have the raw materials to build surfaces. Add curves for the centerline and for the sheer and whatever else you need to build surfaces in Pro-E.

djs

3. rvt

rvt Junior Member

dereksirecim,

thanks for your quick response. I'll try this tonight and see how that works. Basicly what I am trying to do is project the 2D lining on a 3D surface without picking each point seperatly...

Do you know any website where I can read upon this? How do they normally create these lining?

Ries

4. dereksireci

dereksireci Senior Member

Not easy