Wind vane self steering design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by BillyDoc, Dec 13, 2005.

1. BillyDoc

BillyDoc Senior Member

Gentlemen,

Being a dedicated lazy sort, I like to sail with wind vane self-steering. But I have not been happy with the available systems for many reasons and have always built my own. So far I have never been entirely happy with the result, although I think I have done better than a lot of commercial systems. Anyway, due to a recent severe case of cerebral flatulence, I am going to try it again and I would like your comments on my proposed system, presented below.

First let me mention a few things I don’t like about existing systems.

1. I don’t like any system that relies on electricity in any form whatsoever. Not that I have any thing against flowing electrons (I sometimes design circuitry for a living) but using electricity in a salty environment leaves entirely too many ways for things to fail. Besides, there are better ways.

2. Wind vane self-steering systems must be as frictionless as possible between the sensing vane and the actuating servo rudder. If it isn’t, then you can forget about sailing down wind with one. This means good rolling bearings of some sort . . . and these are usually susceptible to corrosion, thus a build up of friction and eventual failure. Friction is bad, and so is corrosion. BUT, non-corroding bearings that can stand up to sea water either do not perform well (plastic bearings) or are so expensive you have to sell too many body parts to pay for them to actually be able to sail (ceramic with ceramic races). If a “sealed” bearing is used, my experience has been that the seals or the outer races corrode (even with “stainless”, and the seals themselves add considerable friction.

3. Complex systems that are difficult to actually use or adjust interfere with my sailing. Did I mention that I’m lazy?