Who is Athol Burns?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by designnovice, Jun 30, 2011.

1. designnovice

designnovice New Member

Hello all. I'm new to the world of boat design and am doing a bit of research. Thus far I've found many beautiful designs by Athol Burns, but little history on the man himself. What is the history of Athol Burns?

I'm also interested in the Athol Burns yacht Christina. Does anyone know anything about her?

2. CutOnce

CutOnce Previous Member

Googled him. Somewhat surprised to see a prolific designer with a strong following. Name sounds like a Bart Simpson crank call to Moe's Tavern.

Who's Athol Burns? Mine does after particularly hot Habanero Chili Peppers.

Got to wonder about parents that saddle their children with names like this.

--
    CutOnce

3. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

Well I've been waiting for someone who knows something to give us a story, but it hasn't happened so I did a little research myself. I don't think I have heard previously of Mr. Burns, his name dos not appear in the Yacht Designers Encyclopedia....but he's not the only significant designer left out.

Mr Burns is refereed to in a couple of places as "New Zealand's William Garden". I take that to infer he did many character vessels, but also that he had a diverse practice spanning many years. Looking at the Athol Burns designs currently available in New Zealand and Austrailia we see 15-16 different boats, some commercial vessels, power yachts, motorsailers, and standard sailing cruisers. They seem to span the period from just after WWII until 1980 or so.

In this http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/sailboats/john-spencers-designs-7528-5.html#post471973 interview, John Spencer (One of NZ's most influential designers) mentions Mr. Burns several times.

Unfortunately this was all I could find of his drawings....A big heavy ketch nicely drawn in a detailed style that could certainly be likened to the work of William Garden.

AlthoBurns.jpg

1 person likes this.
  4. bntii