What speed to expect.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by snowbird30ds, Mar 31, 2016.

1. snowbird30ds

snowbird30ds Junior Member

Hi all newbie here, be gentle with me.
    I have a princess 30ds and a bit disappointed with the speed of it, it is fitted with a pair of volvo TMD41A's (150hp each) on shafts but has had a bar keel added at some point for a drying mooring.
    It currently does 16 knots max, both engines run up to the 3900rpm they are rated at and sound to be under good load, can hear the turbos whistle up, no vibrations from shafts at all so sure running gear is all sound but I was expecting nearer 20 knots from this setup.
    How much effect would this keel be having? the mounts are moulded in a bit but still proud o0f the hull, is it worth me removing as it'll be rarely used if left on.
    Photo of hull and keel setup at http://orthoticlocum.co.uk/barkeel.jpg

2. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

These engines are rated at 3800 rpm, if you measure 3900, they are not delivering maximum power. Unfortunately, you can not judge their loading "by ear". Best info comes from exhaust temperature and turbo pressure measurements. If you are running on "eco-diesel" or equivalent, the output is reduced by roughly 8 %, so check what fuel you have available. The injector pump may be adjusted for fuel quality if you know you will always use low energy fuel.

Next, in order to help, we need info on gear ratio (standard 1,93:1 or 2,63:1) you have plus propeller dia and pitch.

From your photo I can say that this keel is certainly stealing quite a number of your horses; the combination with overspeeding engines explains the major part of the speed loss.

3. snowbird30ds

Thanks for the reply.
    Gearbox is MS4A but don't know the ratio or prop sizes, not had the boat long and I doubt it will be out of the water again till winter now for prop size, do these gearboxes have ratio marked on outside?