Are we being taken for a ride????

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Itchy&Scratchy, Dec 27, 2009.

1. Itchy&Scratchy

Itchy&Scratchy Senior Member

The scenario:18-24 ft powerboat -all rounder with centre console, with a ski pole etc etc.
    In other words your general use family type boat used on flat water and sea on occasion.

Over the years ,because I work in the marine repair industry, I have had the opportunity to have a look at many boats from underneath and have been, and am, interested in what makes the perfect bottom hull shape.

My question:
    What does everybody generally think about these stepped hulls, and when I mean stepped, I mean those with great big channels in the mouldings, I've seen some at angles, some perpendicular,I seen some a foot deep, step ups step downs......:?: :?: :?:
    I mean it seems to be never ending.:confused:

Now I also have 28 years of windsurfing under my belt:D and bottom shape definitely plays a significant role there. It started way back with flat boards with a slight V in the tail, it then progressed to a single concave leading into a flat into a V
    Then we had double concave, triple concave, channels running the full length, we had dead flat, no tail v...

And now funnily enough, we are back to dead flat into a slight V in the tail again.:!: :!:
    and you know what.........:?:
    the latest design is still way faster than all of those others through the years.:p :D :) ;)

so getting back to my question

I know all about air bubbles etc for the hull to ride on blah,blah,blah.....
    but at the end of the day
    does a nice clean line hull, possibly with a deepish V at the bow flattening out and leading into a slight V (weve been here before havent we??) in the tail cover all bases when it comes to a boat for all conditions/uses.:idea:

Are the rest that we are offered not marketing gimmicks used by salesman to sell boats.
    As they say
    '******** baffles brains'

J

2. tom28571