Valves on steel hull?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by cgoodwin, Mar 23, 2011.

1. cgoodwin

cgoodwin Junior Member

OK, I have the oldest Feadship afloat, she is 56' and built in 1952, powered by twin Detroit 6-71's.

When she was built they welded steel pipe to the hull, threaded the end and screwed on steel valves. Needless to say that over the years many have siezed and are inoperable, others have corroded where the threads are on the pipe and have broken off in my hand. (I have been restoring her for 2 years now and any valve that would not open easily I waited to test until I was hauled, there I broke 4).

In replacing them I have the following options:

1) Weld a new mild steel nipple to the hull and screw a bronze valve to it
    -dissimilar metals below water
    a) Same but with a SS nipple welded to the hull

2)Weld a new mild steel nipple to the hull and screw a SS valve to it
    - dissimilar metals below water
    -when sitting the water in the thru hull will lose all 02 content and the SS will suffer crevice corrosion.
    a)Same but with a SS nipple welded to the hull

3)Weld a new mild steel nipple to the hull and screw a Marelon valve to it
    - not a fan of plastic below the water line.
    a)Same but with a SS nipple welded to the hull

4) Weld a pipe to the hull with a flange welded to the end and use a flanged valve.
    a) the same but take care to isolate bolts as well
    b) the same but connect the flange to the valve with a wire to insure bonding

5) Weld a pipe to the hull, weld a flange to the pipe, remove one face of a stainless valve and bolt it to the flange.
    - crevice corrosion again

I have been reading and reading on this for about three months and still have no answer.

The vessel is fitted with an impressed current cathodic protection system (CAPAC).

I intend to paint the inside of the pipes attached to the hull with an eopxy paint before installing the valves.

What material pipe? Steel or SS?